JOSHUA BLOCH JAVA PUZZLERS PDF

Java™ Puzzlers: Traps, Pitfalls, and Corner Cases. 11 reviews. by Neal Gafter, Joshua Bloch. Publisher: Addison-Wesley Professional. Release Date: June. Java Puzzlers has ratings and 22 reviews. Paul said: If you program in Java, you _must_ read this book. It is a real eye-opener to the kind of traps. Java Puzzlers, a new book by Joshua Bloch, Google’s chief Java architect, and Neal Gafter, Google software engineer and Java technology evangelist, contains .

Author: Dilrajas JoJobei
Country: Guyana
Language: English (Spanish)
Genre: History
Published (Last): 15 December 2011
Pages: 61
PDF File Size: 18.80 Mb
ePub File Size: 12.58 Mb
ISBN: 489-8-19108-612-7
Downloads: 38412
Price: Free* [*Free Regsitration Required]
Uploader: Yobar

Do you like brainteasers? Puzzles are grouped loosely according to the features they use, and detailed solutions follow each puzzle.

Java Puzzlers: Traps, Pitfalls, and Corner Cases by Joshua Bloch

Lam rated it really liked it Jan 17, A book that’ll make every Java developer go of “What? Are you a code sleuth? Do you like brainteasers? Some of the tips are useful but it’s more fun to read this book than functional from my point of view. Nov 09, Babji Prashanth rated it really liked it. Sujith S rated it it was amazing Sep 08, Neal Gafter is a software engineer and Java evangelist at Google.

Java Puzzlers: Traps, Pitfalls, and Corner Cases

Mar 20, Kyi Aung rated it it was amazing. From an academic “curiosity” point of view the book is quite intriguing. Are you a code sleuth? That’s not to say that reading it isn’t useful, you’ll definitely learn a bit about the book, but if you’re looking to learn “how to write good Java code” this is not the book for you again, see Bloch’s other book for that.

Having said that, the book does reach a point where the puzzles and concepts hit upon by the puzzles are extremely obscure. If you want to jodhua something about Java, pick one of Joshua Bloch’s other excellent! Great way to learn the corner cases of the Java language up to Java 5. Not terribly useful or entertaining but the appendix is worth going through. It is a real eye-opener to the kind of traps in your code you wouldn’t even imagine could be there.

  LIVRO PORQUE OS HOMENS SE CASAM COM AS MANIPULADORAS PDF

Java 6 and 7 editions ajva make interesting reads, when available.

In the tradition of Effective Java TMBloch and Gafter dive deep into the subtleties of the Java programming language and its core libraries. Tudor Andrei rated it it was amazing Nov 26, Abdalla rated it really liked it Mar 20, Java is a complicated language and after puzzlerd this book you’ll think so too. Oct 15, Rahul Mahindru rated it liked it.

Jun 05, Owen Lindsell rated it liked it.

Java Puzzlers

The solutions go well beyond a simple explanation of the program’s behavior–they show you how to avoid the underlying traps and pitfalls for good.

Jan 27, Christian Brumm rated it it was ok Shelves: Have you ever spent days chasing a bug caused by a trap or pitfall in Java or its libraries? Each chapter of the book features a collection of “puzzlers” centered around a particular section of the language examples include loops, strings, exceptions, classes, etc. Apr 24, Stephen Mak rated it really liked it.

Java Puzzlers: Traps, Pitfalls, and Corner Cases – Joshua Bloch, Neal Gafter – Google Books

Apr 11, Angel S rated it really liked it Shelves: And QA never caught it. This book is more like a brain teaser than real computer book. This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers.

Anyone with a working knowledge puzzlers Java will understand the puzzles, but even the most seasoned veteran will find them challenging.

  IF1 INSURANCE LEGAL AND REGULATORY PDF

Puzzles are grouped loosely according to the features they use, and detailed solutions follow each puzzle. Stay ahead with puzzlerss world’s most comprehensive technology and business learning platform.

Most of the puzzles take the form of a short program whose behavior isn’t what it seems. He holds a Ph. Joshua Bloch is a principal engineer at Google and a Jolt Award-winner.

Notes on the Illusions References Index. Each “puzzler” is formulated where a puzzle typically in the form of a code snippet is given, and the reader is encouraged to try and predict ppuzzlers the output will be, or why the code is incorrect. But it is a fun read that will show you that there are many things you don’t know about Java.

To ask other readers questions about Java Puzzlersplease sign up. Can you figure out what it does?

Solve these puzzles and you’ll never again fall prey to the counterintuitive or obscure behaviors that can fool even the most experienced programmers.

Traps, Pitfalls, and Corner Cases 11 reviews. James rated it really liked it Mar 14, blpch If you are a Java-Guru this might be fun to read. Can you figure out what it does? A handy catalog of traps and pitfalls at the back of the book provides a concise taxonomy for future reference.

Ferri rated it it was amazing Mar 04, B Notes on the Illusions. Horatiu Dan rated it it was amazing Jan 18, Lists with This Book. Paperbackpages.